Florida law allows eligible residents to receive medical marijuana treatment for specific medical issues, including ALS, cancer, Crohn’s Disease, Epilepsy, Glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson’s Disease, PTSD, and more. However, patients must be well-informed of relevant laws that specify how they can transport medical marijuana in vehicles.
While some are only concerned with transport in their own vehicle, there are millions who leverage rideshare services such as Uber. In 2022, Uber drivers completed 64 billion trips and had 131 million active monthly users. With Florida surpassing 700,000 medical marijuana patients, these statistics point to the likely scenario of Florida residents needing an Uber ride with medical marijuana in their possession.
Can I Ride in an Uber With Medical Marijuana?
As of March 2023, there is no Florida law that prohibits riding in an Uber as a passenger, or any rideshare service, while in possession of legally-obtained medical marijuana.
Therefore, the same rules apply as noted above when transporting medical marijuana in your own vehicle. You may legally and safely transport it in an Uber as long as it’s properly sealed in its original packaging, labeled, and in the possession of a current medical marijuana card holder.
Of critical importance is the distinction between transporting medical marijuana in a car per state law—including Uber and other rideshare services—and transporting it via air or train which adhere to federal law.
Can You Drive With Medical Marijuana?
In the state of Florida, medical marijuana can be transported in a vehicle as long as the patient has a valid medical marijuana license with them and carries an amount equal to or less than the allowed legal limit of 2.5 ounces per Florida statute 381.986.
According to Florida State Statute 381.986, physicians:
May not dispense more than one 35-day supply of marijuana in a form for smoking within any 35-day period to a qualified patient or caregiver. A 35-day supply of marijuana in a form for smoking may not exceed 2.5 ounces unless an exception to this amount is approved by the department pursuant to paragraph (4)(f).
In addition, Florida law requires that patients in possession of medical marijuana outside their homes keep it in its original packaging with the dispensary product information and recommended dosage. It is not legal in the state of Florida to use medical marijuana while driving or riding in a vehicle, and those in violation of this law are subject to substantial fines and penalties.
For more information, check out our blog, “Driving with Medical Marijuana in Florida“.
Can I cross state lines in an Uber with my medical marijuana?
Since marijuana is prohibited on a federal level and classified as a Schedule I controlled substance, transportation across state lines in any vehicle is illegal. Possessing a valid medical marijuana license allows you to transport the legal limit of marijuana only within the state of Florida.
While some states have expressed interest in exploring cross-state transport, it remains a federal issue, and no laws have been passed to date that would allow you to transport medical marijuana across state lines—whether in your own car or a rideshare vehicle.
Can an Uber driver decline my business for carrying medical marijuana?
Uber and other rideshare services do not have community guidelines for passengers carrying medical marijuana, as drivers use their personal vehicles to transport riders. For this reason, individual Uber drivers may decline business due to their own personal beliefs or if they prefer to avoid the smell of cannabis in their cars.
Medical marijuana patients are encouraged to respect Uber drivers by being open about their possession of the substance. Efforts should be made to conceal any smell, and provide assurances to the driver that the marijuana is sealed in its original packaging, does not exceed legal limits, and that you are in possession of a valid medical marijuana card.
Uber is venturing into the cannabis industry on a corporate level with partner Leafly, with marijuana delivery now available in Toronto. Although this recent development hints at Uber’s overall corporate philosophy on marijuana transport, this delivery service is not currently being discussed in the state of Florida.
How much medical marijuana can I travel with in Florida?
Florida marijuana patients with active medical cards may travel with up to 2.5 oz of cannabis throughout the state. However, in addition to possession limits, Florida law also requires that patients keep their medication in its original packaging along with the dispensary product information and recommended dosage.