Before purchasing cannabis from a medical marijuana treatment center (or dispensary), Florida patients must first qualify for a medical marijuana certification; CannaMD provides qualified patients with the state-required recommendation to complete this process. The state of Florida outlines a number of eligible health conditions. To see if yours is one of them, simply visit our Get Started page or give our certified physicians a call at (855) 420-9170. We’re happy to review your personal medical history for FREE and steer you in the right direction!
CannaMD offers nearly two dozen convenient locations, all across Florida. To find a doctor’s office close to you, please visit our Clinic Locations page.
CannaMD prides itself on facilitating easy-to-understand access to cutting-edge cannabis research. To learn more about how medical marijuana may help your condition, please visit the CannaMD blog. Enter your condition in the search bar and browse away!
We also have a short-cut to some of the most commonly searched conditions on our Research Studies page.
If you’re a first-time patient, our appointment fee is $195. Renewal appointments are also $195. (Note: Florida law requires patients to complete a renewal appointment every 210 days.) However, CannaMD is happy to extend a 10% discount to all veterans and active duty service members. Please note: The Florida Department of Health charges a separate $75 fee.
Florida law requires patients to complete a renewal appointment every 210 days in order to keep their medical marijuana card active. We charge $195 for this renewal appointment. However, CannaMD is happy to extend a 10% discount to all veterans and active duty service members.
CannaMD renewal appointments cost $195.
Absolutely! We’re honored to offer veterans and military service members a 10% discount on all appointment fees.
Other than our appointment costs, we don’t charge any other fees! (Please note: The Florida Department of Health charges a separate $75 annual fee.)
CannaMD accepts all major credit and debit cards. We do not accept cash, FSA, or HSA cards. Insurance, Medicare and Medicaid do not cover medical marijuana at this time.
Note: Some insurance companies may offer reimbursement if you submit a receipt for your visit.
Full payment or a partial payment of at least $50 must be made at the time of scheduling. If a partial payment is made, a representative will call two days prior to your scheduled appointment to collect the remaining balance.
We cannot take payment in our offices.
If you see one of our physicians and don’t qualify for whatever reason, we offer a 100% money-back guarantee!
If you cancel prior to 48 hours before your scheduled appointment, you will receive a full refund. If you cancel within 48 hours of your scheduled appointment, you will receive a full refund minus a $50 fee.
Note: There are no refunds issued after you have completed your appointment.
All refund requests must occur within 90 days of initial payment. Refunds will not be issued after this point.
In the event that telehealth appointments are permitted (e.g., via state emergency orders), telehealth patients acknowledge that electronic signatures may be required and that signing electronic forms may be a required part of the certification process. While CannaMD will make every attempt to assist, inability and/or failure to sign electronic forms will not constitute grounds for a refund.
If you have any additional questions, please don’t hesitate to call us at (855) 420-9170.
Florida law requires all recommending physicians to complete a state-mandated training program in order to qualify patients for medical marijuana use. All CannaMD physicians are state-licensed physicians who have completed this additional training.
Yes! Our physicians are state-licensed MDs and DOs just like any other doctor you might visit. However, our physicians went through additional training in order to be able to legally recommend medical marijuana to patients, as mandated by Florida state law.
- Crohn’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
In addition to these qualifying conditions, Senate Bill 8A also allows for treatment of other “diagnosable, debilitating conditions of like, kind, or class” (such as anxiety, depression, and migraines), as well as terminal conditions (diagnosed by a physician other than the physician issuing certification) and chronic nonmalignant pain (defined as pain caused by a qualifying medical condition that persists beyond the usual course of that condition). To find out if your condition is eligible, simply visit our Conditions page or give us a call at (855) 420-9170!
A caregiver must:
- Be 21 years of age or older and a Florida resident.
- Agree in writing to help with the qualified patient’s use of medical marijuana.
- Be registered in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry as a caregiver for only one
qualified patient, unless otherwise permitted.
- Successfully complete a caregiver certification course developed and administered
by Florida Department of Health, which must be renewed every two years.
To review the state’s Caregiver Certification Course Study Guide, visit Florida’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use.
Note: Florida’s Caregiver Certification Course is built into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry and is free of charge. Caregivers are not required to take any other course or examination to be registered as a caregiver.
To prove you are a Florida resident, you must present one of the following documents, along with your photo ID:
- Copy of your house deed or lease agreement
- Utility bill no more than two months old
- State ID or driver’s license
To learn more, please see: Florida Snowbirds Can Use Medical Marijuana.
The term seasonal resident means any person who temporarily resides in this state (Florida) for a period of at least 31 consecutive days in each calendar year, maintains a temporary residence in this state, returns to the state or jurisdiction of his or her residence at least one time during each calendar year, and is registered to vote or pays income tax in another state or jurisdiction.
To learn more, please see: Florida Snowbirds Can Use Medical Marijuana.
Yes. However, Senate Bill 182 mandates that physicians must submit supporting research establishing the specific efficacy of smoking for the condition at hand. For this reason, certain conditions may not be eligible.
Talk to your employer’s human resources department about your medical condition. Taking medical marijuana could jeopardize your employment, as federal protections are not currently in place.
The Medical Marijuana Use Registry is a secure, online database of ordering physicians and qualified medical marijuana patients. It is maintained by the Florida Department of Health’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use.
It is accessible to ordering physicians, law enforcement, dispensing organization staff, and Office of Medical Marijuana Use staff.
After a certified physician has determined eligibility and submitted your recommendation to the state:
If you are a Florida resident with a valid Florida ID (with an up-to-date address,) you may qualify for same-day approval by the state. If you do not fall within this criteria, the approval process takes approximately 14-17 business days.
Low-THC marijuana is defined as containing 0.8 percent or less of the psychoactive compound tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), and more than 10 percent of cannabidiol (CBD). Low-THC marijuana typically does not produce the euphoria (high) often associated with medical cannabis.
Some medical conditions, like seizures, anxiety, pain, and insomnia, respond best to low-THC/high CBD marijuana. Conditions characterized by chronic pain, depression, fatigue, nausea, wasting, and gastrointestinal disorders often respond better to high-THC medical cannabis.
When ordering marijuana for a patient, the doctor must specify whether the order is for low-THC marijuana or medical cannabis.
Only a licensed medical marijuana treatment center is authorized to dispense medical marijuana to qualified patients and their caretakers. Medical marijuana clinics and doctors who prescribe medical marijuana are not allowed to sell it.
For a full state directory, please see our Dispensary page.
CannaMD physicians are closely monitoring state and federal updates and adhering to best practices when it comes to protecting the health of both our patients and dedicated staff. These precautions include, but are not limited to:
- Pre-screening patients over the phone via CDC guidelines to confirm they are not ill before booking
- Asking patients who feel ill to reschedule
- Limiting traffic to each office (e.g., patient guests/visitors, deliveries, promotional visits)
- Implementing additional cleaning measures to guarantee strict compliance with CDC guidelines
- Limiting wait times in all reception areas
Please visit our Coronavirus FAQs page for more information on how CannaMD is keeping patients safe.
Ready To Get Started?
Florida patients can use the alternative medical marijuana treatment, setup a doctor consultation today!